You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Canada’s Premiers Announce 2017 Literacy Award Recipients

by pmnationtalk on September 8, 2017139 Views

September 8, 2017 – In honour of International Literacy Day, Canada’s Premiers today announced the recipients of the 13th annual Council of the Federation Literacy Award. The award is presented to recipients from all 13 provinces and territories to celebrate outstanding achievement, innovative practice, and excellence in literacy.

The recipients of the 2017 Council of the Federation Literacy Award are:

Lethbridge Public Library – Alberta
Project Literacy Kelowna Society – British Columbia Christian Haines – Manitoba
Rosalie Simon – Newfoundland and Labrador
Lise Beaulieu – New Brunswick
Howard Lane – New Brunswick
Scott Atigikyoak – Northwest Territories
Jocelyne Boutilier – Nova Scotia
Elizabeth Dean – Nunavut
The LearningHUB – Ontario
Shawn Stewart – Prince Edward Island
La Fondation pour l’alphabétisation – Québec
Marilyn Stearns – Saskatchewan
Peter Morawsky – Yukon

“I am pleased to congratulate the recipients of the 2017 Council of the Federation Literacy Award,” said Rachel Notley, Premier of Alberta and Chair of the Council of the Federation. “The hard work and achievements of this year’s recipients, all of whom have shown an exceptional commitment to literacy, are truly deserving of this recognition.”

Created by Premiers in 2004, the Award recognizes the important role that literacy plays in facilitating Canadians’ participation as full and active citizens in all areas of society. The Award celebrates adult learners who undertake literacy training, as well as the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, including family, Aboriginal, health, workplace, and community literacy. The Award is presented to learners, educators, volunteers, community organizations, and businesses in each province and territory.

Each Award recipient receives a certificate, signed by the Premier of their province or territory, as well as a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion.

– MORE –


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More