Assiniboine Alumni Association announces 2022 Alumni Award recipients

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Assiniboine Alumni Association announces 2022 Alumni Award recipients

by ahnationtalk on June 17, 202223 Views

June 16, 2022

Assiniboine Community College’s Alumni Association has announced the recipients of this year’s alumni awards for both the Brandon and Parkland regions. A total of eight awards will be presented at two Advancement Dinner events in Brandon and Dauphin in the fall of 2022.

This year’s Distinguished Alumni Awards, will be presented to Barry LaRocque (Brandon) and Tere Stykalo (Parkland). The Distinguished Alumni category is presented annually to graduates of the college who have distinguished themselves in both their chosen profession and their community.

Barry LaRocque is a three-time graduate of Assiniboine Community College, who has contributed to the exceptional learning experiences of its students through his volunteerism on various committees over the last 20 years including as a member of its Foundation board, the School of Trades program advisory committee, and as Campaign Cabinet member of its current Prairie Innovation Centre campaign. He is the CEO and owner of the Atom-Jet Group in Brandon, MB, which was recognized as one of Manitoba’s Top 50 fastest growing companies.

Tere Stykalo, CPA, CGA is a partner with MNP in Dauphin, MB. He received his Business Administration diploma with Assiniboine in 1991 before going on to attain his Certified General Accounting designation in 1998 (now Chartered Professional Accountant). He has been an active volunteer in the Parkland community with a particular focus in the agriculture industry. Tere and his wife Tracy, along with their family, operate a farm near Dauphin. Most recently, Tere was awarded the 2020 Dauphin Agriculture Society Lifetime Membership Award.

This year’s recipients of the One to Watch Award are Dallas Flett-Wapash (Brandon), Jadelyn McKay, Kayla Gillis and Nicole Koroway (Parkland). The One to Watch award recognizes someone who has made exceptional achievements and significant contributions to their profession and community since graduation.

In a short period of time, Dallas Flett-Wapash has made a positive impact in the digital art world. He was one of two artists invited to participate in the Abijijiwan Media Lab Summer 2021 residency program and has hosted several interactive presentations and workshops to schools in Indigenous communities in several provinces. He is passionate about sharing his knowledge and has created a series of videos that demonstrate a step-by-step process in how to develop in Augmented Reality.

Jadelyn McKay is a two-time graduate of Assiniboine Community College, earning her Practical Nursing diploma in 2017 followed by her Applied Counselling Certificate in 2021. Through her position as Wellness Worker/Assistant Case Manager for the Dibishkoo Nide Niniijaanis program (Jordan’s Principle) in Tootinaowaziibeeng, she aims to bring awareness of her culture and traditions to the children and families she works with.

Kayla Gillis put her natural insight into the agricultural industry to use in Assiniboine’s Agribusiness program. After graduating in 2008 she continued to increase her knowledge in ag and finance and has achieved multiple post-graduate certifications that have helped her provide exceptional service to her clients as a Consultant with IG Wealth Management. She is highly dedicated to the Dauphin community and serves on many national and local boards.

Nicole Koroway is a two-time graduate of Assiniboine Community College, earning her Comprehensive Health Care Aide certificate in 2011, followed by her Practical Nursing diploma in 2015. She has held numerous positions at the Dauphin Hospital where she is currently a Licensed Practical Nurse on the Operating Room unit.

The Excellence in Education Award honours an Assiniboine staff member or retiree for extraordinary contributions to teaching and the student experience. This year, the award goes to two outstanding instructors— from the School of Health and Human Services, Carla Gibson, and from the School of Business, retired instructor, Kent Wieb.

Carla Gibson has been a full-time instructor in the Social Service program since 2015. She brings years of education and experience in the social work industry to her students. She demonstrates leadership and enthusiasm and encourages her students to consider all perspectives resulting in highly skilled graduates from the program.

Kent Wieb began his career as a Business Administration instructor at Assiniboine in 2000 and recently retired after 21 years with the college. Kent had a profound impact on many Assiniboine graduates in the Parkland community, both as an instructor and as a volunteer for the Students’ Association.

The dates and venues for the Advancement Dinner events where these recipients will be presented their awards will be announced at a later date.

For event details, sponsorship information, or tickets contact Lisa Huston, Alumni Relations Co-ordinator, at 204.725.8700 ext 7124.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More