Nine Outstanding Manitoba Educators are Recipients of the Excellence in Education Awards

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Nine Outstanding Manitoba Educators are Recipients of the Excellence in Education Awards

by ahnationtalk on April 19, 202117 Views

Dedicated, Caring Educators Recognized: Cullen

Nine outstanding Manitoba educators have been recognized for their dedication as recipients of the annual Excellence in Education Awards, Education Minister Cliff Cullen announced today.

“This year, perhaps more than ever, shows how dedicated Manitoba’s teachers are and the tremendous, tireless effort they put in daily,” said Cullen. “I’m pleased to recognize these educators who make the extra effort and make such a difference in their schools, communities and recognizing their focus on putting students first.”

April 19 marks the first day of Education Week, recognizing the contributions of educators across the province. The awards recognize the excellent work teachers and school leaders put into helping students reach their full potential by using innovative teaching methods and new approaches.

Cullen presented awards to educators in the following five categories:
• teaching excellence award:
– Kimberly Dudek, Murdoch Mackay Collegiate, River East Transcona;
– Brenda Grieve, St. Maurice School, Independent; and
– Shelagh McGregor, Inkster School, Winnipeg.
• outstanding new teacher award:
– Ryley Larway, McLeod Education Centre, River East Transcona.
• outstanding team collaboration award:
– David Day and Arista Ryback, Nelson McIntyre Collegiate, Louis Riel.
• outstanding school leader award:
– Mike Babb, Elmwood High, Winnipeg.
• Premier’s Award for Excellence in Education:
– Darren Alford, Laura Buller and Rhianna Church, Elmwood High, Winnipeg.

The province selects award recipients from nominations submitted by parents, students, school trustees, fellow teachers, and school or division administrators.

All nominees must be educators who hold valid, permanent Manitoba teaching certificates and work directly with kindergarten to Grade 12 students on a daily basis. Nominees for the outstanding school leader award must be principals or vice-principals. Each award recipient receives a modest reward and a framed certificate.

“These awards provide an opportunity for the province to celebrate dedicated, caring educators, who go above and beyond to teach and inspire students,” said Cullen. “The admiration and respect you have earned from your school community is a direct result of the profound, positive impact you have had on student learning and engagement.”

– 30 –


For more information:

  • Public information, contact Manitoba Government Inquiry: 1-866-626-4862 or 204-945-3744.
  • Media requests for general information, contact Communications Services Manitoba: 204-945-3765.
  • Media requests for ministerial comment, contact Communications and Stakeholder Relations: 204-794-0732.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More